Ursulines of Louisville Elect 2020-2026 Leadership

Sisters Come from Varied Backgrounds in Education, Healthcare and Advocacy Work for Impoverished, Deaf Ministry in the United States and Peru

LOUISVILLE, KY (August 5, 2020) – Five Ursuline Sisters of Louisville committed themselves to guiding the 162-year-old congregation of Sisters and Associate members that today minister with communities and individuals, near and far, in a variety of ways.

The new Leadership Circle consists of Jean Anne Zappa, OSU, president; Anne Mary Lochner, OSU, vice president/councilor; Rita Ann Wigginton, OSU, councilor; Yuli Oncihuay, OSU, councilor; and Agnes Coveney, OSU, councilor.

Sister Zappa has spent the past 12 years with Shively Area Ministries (SAM) as Mission Advancement Coordinator.  SAM responds to persons in poverty and crisis in the 40216 zip code of Louisville. Sister Zappa also taught for twenty years, starting in 1972 at the former Angela Merici High School and then at Sacred heart Academy. Sister Zappa was also  the first Mission Effectiveness Director of the Ursuline Campus Schools, now Sacred Heart Schools. An alumna of Ursuline Academy in Pittsburgh, Sister Zappa holds a bachelor degree from Bellarmine and a master’s from St. Meinrad School of Theology.

"We are honored to be called forth by our congregation to serve.” Sister Zappa said. “We look forward to working with our Sisters to implement our Chapter Commitments as we continue to proclaim the gospel, witness and share our Charism.”

Photo caption: Sisters Anne Mary Lochner, Rita Ann Wigginton, President Jean Anne Zappa, Yuli Oncihuay, Agnes Coveney​


Ursuline Sisters of Louisville
Contact Information: 

Kathy Williams
Director of Communications and Public Relations
Ursuline Sisters of Louisville
(502) 515-0973 | (502) 727-9202 (cell)
3115 Lexington Road | Louisville, KY 40206​​​