Witness & Grace Conversations

A Conversation on Anti-Human Trafficking
Presented by Sr. Gabriella Bottani and Sr. Jean Schafer  

Tuesday, January 19, 2021
3 p.m. Eastern  | 2 p.m. Central  |  1 p.m. Mountain  | 12 p.m. Pacific

Register

Conversation

In preparation for the International Day of Prayer and Awareness Against Human Trafficking on February 8, 2021, Global Sisters Report offers this conversation with Srs. Gabriella Bottani and Jean Schafer, both leaders among Catholic sisters working against human trafficking. They will help us understand the multiple ways that trafficking manifests itself around the world, how the coronavirus pandemic has affected this issue, the long journey victims face in recovery, systemic solutions being pursued and how networking and spirituality buoy the sisters who work to stop this evil.

Articles 

Catholic sisters lead the way in the anti-trafficking movement

Q & A with Sr. Jean Schafer on the evolution of the anti-trafficking message

Presenters

Sr. Gabriella Bottani,  Comboni Missionary Sister and International Coordinator since 2015 of Talitha Kum, the international "network of networks" that unites Catholic sisters in 92 countries in the fight against human trafficking. The organization's effectiveness has been recognized by the U.S. State Department, which publishes an annual Trafficking in Person (TIP) Report, the world's most comprehensive source of information on human trafficking and in 2019 the TIP Report recognized Bottani as a TIP Hero for her role as the international coordinator.

 

 

 

Sr. Jean Schafer, Sister of the Divine Savior and board member of U.S. Catholic Sisters Against Human Trafficking and founder and editor for 17 years of the Stop Trafficking! Newsletter, a monthly publication that educates about the crime of human trafficking, and advocates for changes to address the needs of victims and the elimination of modern-day slavery across the world.